Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Sri Lanka Premier League teams List & Format

A new franchise-based Twenty20 tournament was introduced by Sri Lanka Cricket called Sri Lanka Premier League by taking an inspiration from Indian Premier League in 2011. Unfortunately, SLC postponed the league last year due to the non-participation of the Indian cricketers. This year would be the inaugural season of the premier Twenty20 cricket competition in Sri Lanka. Finally, Sri Lanka Cricket is very glad to announce the emergence of Sri Lanka Premier League. Probably, it would be organized between the dates of August 10 to August 31. It is announced that the inaugural program will be held at the Pallekele Stadium in Kandy and R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Sri Lanka Premier League teams List & Format

Twenty20 began a new trend of entertainment in the world within a short time span. The format of T20 is considered as the most amusing and thrilling format of cricket which has become popular rapidly all over the world. It has not grabbed the attention of viewers only but players also feel the excitement and adventure on the ground. After IPL, ICC T20 world cup and others, the newly introduced Sri Lanka Premier League wants to create an atmosphere of fun and pleasure worldwide. SLC will arrange the tournament with the MCC guidelines i.e. ‘SPIRIT OF CRICKET’. SLPL resembles IPL as International players are going to join the league along with Sri Lankan national cricketers and young domestic Lankans.

Sri Lankan Cricket board has signed the deal with Somerset Entertainment Ventures to arrange the event systematically. The format of the League remains the same that was decided last year.

Format of Sri Lanka Premier League:

7 Regional teams are going to play in the League which will include all the International players, domestic and national cricketers of Sri Lanka. It has been decided that the playing team will include 7 Lankan players and 6 foreign players to select last playing elevens of every squad. The playing eleven comprises of 4 overseas players and 7 players of Sri Lanka with 1 under-21 cricketer every time.

The journey of the league will become more exciting like IPL when all the 7 teams will play with each other following semi-finals and finals. Sri Lanka Premier League is going to be huge platform for the young players of Sri Lanka to show their potential. Talented players who are struggling to get a deserving place in the Lankan team can shine with their cricketing skills.

Teams ready to battle in the League:
  • Kandurata ‘central hill’ Kites
  • Ruhuna ‘southern’ Rhinos
  • Uthura ‘north’ Oryxes
  • Wayamba ‘north central’ Wolves
  • Basnahira ‘Western’ Bears
  • Nagenahira ‘eastern’ Nagas
  • Uva ‘south eastern’ Unicorns

No comments:

Post a Comment